Diplomatic Excellence Awards 2014 conferred on 15

Islamabad – In recognition of outstanding contributions and services, 15 foreign ambassadors and representatives of various international and national development organisations based in Pakistan were conferred with Diplomatic Excellence Awards 2014 at the ceremony held here at Islamabad Club on Wednesday.
The ceremony was jointly organised by The Diplomatic Insight and Institute of Peace and Diplomatic Studies. The Principal Secretary to the President of Pakistan, Ahmad Farooq, was the chief guest on the occasion.
While speaking on the occasion, he lauded the efforts of the organisers in bridging among the diplomatic community, the government and masses of Pakistan. He also underlined the importance of collaborative efforts in enchaining Pakistan’s relationship with international community.
The award holders included Dashgin Shikarov, Ambassador Republic of Azerbaijan to Pakistan, Jusus Zenen B Concepcion, Ambassador Embassy of Cuba to Pakistan, Sun Weidong, Ambassador Republic of China to Pakistan, Ambassador Lars Gunnar Wigemark, Head of Delegation, European Union to Pakistan, Cyrill Nunn, Ambassador Republic of Germany to Pakistan, M Burhan Muhammad, Ambassador Republic of Indonesia to Pakistan, Dr Song Jong- Hwan, Ambassador Republic of Korea to Pakistan, Dauda Danladi Mni, High Commissioner Republic of Nigeria to Pakistan, Peter Upton, Country Director British Council Pakistan, Marc-André Franche, Country Director United Nations Development Programme Pakistan, and Dr Naseer Ali Khan, Vice Chancellor of University of Haripur and Chairman Inter-University Consortium for the Promotion of Social Sciences, Humanities and Arts (IUCPSS). While special shields were presented to Dr Abdul Basit, Chancellor Preston University, Nadeem Khan, Director MAAKSONS, Amna Malik, Vice Chairperson Friends of White Ribbon Alliance, and Umer Rahmatullah, Director The Protectors.
A high profiled committee comprising leading personalities from business community, bureaucracy, academia and media nominated various personalities for conferment of awards. The ambassadors, diplomats and dignitaries from various walks of life also attended the ceremony.

Search in archive